Small wonders

Today, amid the general wonder of getting through a day with three boys remaining physically unscathed, two wondrous things occurred.

Microscopic on the scale of earthly wonders, these events nevertheless stood out as joyous morsels; as beacons of hope.

The first occurred at a birthday party for the daughter of a very dear friend. During the party I had the privilege of holding one of my friend’s adorable baby girls – one of twins born slightly early late last year but growing and smiling and keen to get on with the business of experiencing the world. With baby nestled under my chin, I performed the instinctive mother sway whilst humming… actually this… and she fell asleep. I relished her sleepy weight for a while before reluctantly agreeing to relinquish her to the cozy confines of her pram. I peeled baby away from my chest, awkwardly maneuvered her headfirst into the stationary vehicle and literally held my breath as I removed my arms. She didn’t look entirely comfortable with one foot propped up against the pram bar and various blankets asunder but I resisted the urge to adjust and it was in this moment – the nervous transitioning of a sleeping baby from an calming accustomed rhythm to a cold startling stillness – that the first wonder occurred. Stepping back, I watched as she opened her eyes and stirred and I thought it was over and her peace had been irrevocably disturbed but then – wonder of joyous wonders – she resettled and went back to sleep.

My friend happened to witness this miraculous scene and immediately offered me a congratulatory high five – she herself having never managed this transition successfully.

This was one of the proudest moments of my entire life.

The second wondrous thing to occur today is that I got through a day with my boys – all jam packed and active and wall-to-wall – without shouting once.

Like I said, both of these wonders are microscopic on the scale of worldly magnificence. And yet to some they stoke and replenish tired and withered flames. They keep bright the motive and illuminate the cause.

My cause is relishing this life, and a sleeping baby and peaceful household help me to pursue it.

One Response to “Small wonders”

  1. beck Says:

    oh poss – these are small moments but indeed precious and worth keeping hold of thru the chaos…children are nothing but microscopic moments of wonder. your kids are blessed you take the time to not only notice but treasure them xx

Leave a comment